The 10th Heywood, Lancashire, Chess Congress

June 19-20 2004


10th Heywood Congress is another success for the town!

140 players descended on Heywood Civic Hall last weekend to participate in the tenth Heywood chess congress. Pride of place went to ten visiting chess players from Heywood’s twin town Peine in Germany, who were staying with local chess players. Held over two days, participants from Scotland, Wales and Peterborough joined local players in competing for prize money spread over five different categories. Top competitior was International Master (IM) Steve Mannion of Scotland.

The IM didn’t have it all his own way in the VIRIDOR OPEN section and he finished equal first with regular Brett Lund of Preston.

Sadly no Heywood players won a prize this time, though organiser Bill O’Rourke came the closest with 3/5 points in the HEYWOOD ADVERTISER MAJOR.

The DUNNES STORES INTERMEDIATE section was a close affair until the final minutes, finishing with four players tied for first place! Local player Emlyn Dobson of Rochdale won a grading prize.

The VIRIDOR MINOR was even closer with five players sharing first place! Unbelievably Antonin Weleminsky of Heywood Chess Club continues to battle with the rest at the young age of 95, though this time he was outside the prize money!

The KUMON MATHS NOVICE saw good performances from Heywood players, especially Peter Edhouse and Liam O’Rourke.

Organiser Bill O’Rourke said "It really must be stressed that without the magnificent support of Viridor Waste Management Services, the Heywood Advertiser, Dunnes Stores and Kumon Maths the event quite simply couldn’t take place. Also we’ve once again really enjoyed the visit this week by our Peine chess friends, and we’re looking forward to going over again next year to Peine".





1st = IM Steve Mannion (Cathcart) and Brett Lund (Preston) 4/5 £225 each

3rd Adam Ashton (3C’s) 3.5/5 £80

Grading prizes: Robert Taylor (Preston) and Ray Illett (Peterborough) 2.5/5 £10 each



1st= Paul Evans (Bray Valley) and David Jameson (Colwyn Bay) 4/5 £150 each

3rd= R. Wiltshire (Bearsden), John Stephenson (Undercliff), Richard Bryant (Shrewsbury Telepost) and Neil Moss 3.5/5 £12.50 each

Grading prize: Chris Vassiliou (Chorlton) 3/5 £20



1st= Dean Hartley (Amber Valley), Paul Stephenson (Liverpool), Denis Horton (Urmston) and Paul Clarke (Rose Forgrove) 4/5 £87.50 each

Grading prizes:

130-124 Emlyn Dobson (Rochdale) and Robert Clegg (Huddersfield) 3/5 £10 each

U124 Richard Desmendt (Wombwell) 3/5 £20



1st= Angel Gonzales (Calderdale), Paul Talbot (Knights), Les Parkinson (Chorley), Rob Hart (Chorley) and Robert Williams (Prestwich) £50 each

Grading prizes:

105-99 Warren Derbyshire (Chorley) 3.5/5 £20

98-82 Barrie Wadsworth (Halifax) and Michael Rabbitte (Swinton)

U82 Kenneth Parkin (Nelson), Ray Bradney (Stockport) and Patrick Coleman (Lytham Ex) 2.5/5 £6.67 each



1st= David Groves (St. Helens), Barry Groves (St Helens) and Paul Tinton (Chorley Juniors) 4/5 £26.67 each


Puzzle competition winner: Mark Talbot (Knights) £10

Copyright @Heywood Chess Congress 2024

Cookies                                                                                                              Privacy Policy