The 7th Heywood, Lancashire, Chess Congress

June 23-24 2001


Heywood Congress bucks the trend!

At a time when most congresses are showing declines in attendance, the Heywood Congress has again bucked the trend with another increase in numbers. The congress thrives on sponsorship from local businesses, such as the local paper (the Heywood Advertiser), Dunnes Stores and Kumon Maths. The latter also sponsor the Lancashire juniors. Lancashire has just qualified for the national county finals at U100 and U125 levels, with many of these teams fielding juniors, so the benefit of the sponsorship is just beginning to show dividends.

But the real star at the congress was Antonin Weleminsky of Heywood Chess Club – still competing at the age of 93!

In the HEYWOOD ADVERTISER OPEN section, Grandmaster Keith Arkell was up against a strong field but managed to win through after a rock solid draw with Scottish IM Steve Mannion (who finshed second) in the final round. However it was Arkell’s win in the fourth round against young talent Stewart Haslinger that set him on the way to overall victory. Haslinger, recovering from illness, unfortunately fell to a tactical blow in Arkell’s favourite type of ending, rook and pawns.

Unfortunately this was not a successful year for Heywood players. The DUNNES STORES HEYWOOD MAJOR was won by Chris Vassiliou of Chorlton. The HEYWOOD ON-LINE INTERMEDIATE was shared by Dave Aspinall of Oldham and Paul Stephenson of Prescot, and the KUMON MATHS MINOR by David Jameson of Colwyn Bay. The KUMON MATHS NOVICE was won by Mike Friel of Caergwrle Crown in Wales.





1st GM Keith Arkell (Worcestershire) 4.5/5 £300

2nd IM Steve Mannion (Cathcart) 4/5 £150

3rd= (and grading prize) Lee Kay (Rochdale) and Alan Walton (3C’s) 3.5/5 £30 each

3rd= Brett Lund (Preston) and Stewart Haslinger (Southport) 3.5/5 £20 each



1st Chris Vassiliou (Chorlton) 4.5/5 £200

2nd= Martyn Hamer (Great Harwood) and Robert M Taylor 4/5 £75 each

Grading prize: Paul Evans 3.5/5 £20



1st= Dave Aspinall (Oldham) and Paul Stephenson (Prescot) 4.5/5 £120 each

3rd Paul Southwell (High Peak) 4/5 £40

Grading prizes:

U125 Dave Sugden 3/5 £20

125-132 Janos Wagenbach (Mansfield) 3.5/5 £20



1st David Jameson (Colwyn Bay) 5/5 £140

2nd S. Sriharan (York), 4.5/5 £70

3rd Peter Worsley (Radcliffe) 4/5 £40

Grading prizes:

102-93 G. Whitehead (Salford), David Kelly (St. Helens) and Barrie Wadsworth (Halifax) 3.5/5 £6.70 each

92-80 Mark Stollery (Nelson) 3.5/5 £20

79-49 Lee Baron (Bury), Ken Rigby Snr. (Swinton), Ray Bradney (Stockport), Adam Robinson (3C’s) and David Hart (Chorley) 3/5 £4 each



1st= Mike Friel (Caergwrle Crown) 4.5/5 £50

2nd= Stephen Haddock (Blackburn) and Carl Bardsley (Swinton) 4/5 £15 each


Puzzle competition winner: Dean Hartley (Amber Valley) £10


Note – no female prize winners or players with disabilities

Scores by Seniors: none

Scores by Juniors: Robert M Taylor 4/5 £75

Copyright @Heywood Chess Congress 2024

Cookies                                                                                                              Privacy Policy